I can smell the adventure!

In less than 24 hours I will be on a plane bound for Phnom Penh, Cambodia!  It seems unreal…it always does when I am about to leave the country.  When I am breathing hot, humid Cambodian air is when it will hit me.

There have been quite a few people who have told me that they don’t know where Cambodia is.  So here is a handy dandy little reference map for you!

And another:

As you can see, the city I will be in is just a little below the middle point of the country.  Phnom Penh is the capital of Cambodia.  The good thing about living in the city is that I don’t have to worry about malaria mosquitoes!

A few weeks ago my family hosted my sister’s high school graduation party at our home.  It was a great day of seeing friends and catching up.  By the end of the day, I had a nice little “speech” for everyone who asked about my trip: “I am leaving June 5, coming back August 19.  The trip is a research internship in which I will be researching and writing about women in the sex trafficking industry.  I can’t say that it will be fun, but it certainly will be an interesting experience!”  And to be quite honest, those few sentences are about all the information that I know.  I’ll have a better idea of what the next three months will look for me within the next few days!

Stay updated here!

P.S.  For those who have seen the movie “Taken”, there is no need to worry about me–I’ll be safe and sound!

P.P.S.  I am still appreciating donations!  If you feel led to give, you can do so here: http://www.gofundme.com/6qk3bw

Leave a Reply

